This page may contain affiliate links. We may earn a commission at no extra cost to you.
Wellness / A closer look

Bulk Vegan Protein Powder review

The other big UK value vegan protein, reviewed against what the plant-protein research actually shows. A five-source plant blend sweetened with stevia, cheap in the big bags — but it is less protein-dense than its rivals, and the protein per serving is described three different ways depending on where you look.

Our take: cheap, varied and a little vague

Bulk Vegan Protein Powder is the main rival to Myprotein Impact Vegan Protein at the value end of the market. Its selling points are a broader plant blend — pea, soya, pumpkin seed, quinoa and flaxseed — stevia rather than sucralose, and low prices in its larger bags.

Where it falls short is the label. Depending on where you look, a serving gives “up to 27 g”, 24.2 g per 35 g, or 23 g of protein. The powder is about 69 per cent protein, noticeably less than Myprotein’s vegan blend at about 80 per cent, which means more flavouring and filler per gram of protein. None of that makes it a bad product; it makes it harder to compare honestly.

This is a desk review. We have read the published ingredient list, UK listings and the research on plant protein and resistance training. We have not used this product, tested its contents or run a trial. We could not open Bulk’s own product page while writing, so the next section says where each figure came from.

What exactly are you buying?

Bulk Vegan Protein Powder is sold in pack sizes including 1 kg, 2.5 kg and 5 kg, in several flavours. The chocolate version’s ingredient list, from Bulk’s product-page summary, is: a vegan protein blend (pea protein isolate, soya protein isolate, pumpkin seed protein, quinoa flour, flaxseed powder), reduced-fat cocoa powder, flavouring, an emulsifier (sunflower lecithin), the sweetener steviol glycosides, a digestive enzyme complex (amylase, protease, cellulase, lactase, lipase) and a thickener (xanthan gum).

The protein figures disagree:

  • Bulk’s own product-page title: up to 27 g of plant protein per serving.
  • A UK price tracker: 69 g of protein per 100 g, or 24.2 g per 35 g serving.
  • An Amazon.co.uk listing for the 1 kg vanilla pouch: 23 g per serving, 28 servings per pack.

“Up to” usually means the best flavour; the others probably reflect different flavours or an older formula. We cannot tell which applies to the pack you buy, so read its panel. Whatever the exact figure, the 35 g scoop is larger than the 30 to 32 g scoops of its rivals, so each serving carries more non-protein ingredients.

The blend itself is sensible. Mixing several plant sources evens out the amino acid profile, and soya protein is itself a complete protein. The enzyme complex is included to help digestion; there is little evidence it matters for a protein shake, but it does no harm.

Does plant protein build muscle as well as whey?

For most people, yes, provided total protein is enough. In a 2015 randomised trial by Babault and colleagues, 161 young men doing 12 weeks of resistance training took pea protein, whey or a placebo; muscle thickness increased similarly with pea and whey. A 2018 meta-analysis by Messina and colleagues found soy protein produced similar gains in strength and lean mass to animal protein. And a 2021 study by Hevia-Larraín and colleagues found vegans and omnivores on protein-matched diets gained similar muscle and strength.

The rule is the same as for any protein powder: reach your daily total first. A 2018 meta-analysis by Morton and colleagues found gains in fat-free mass levelled off at around 1.6 g of protein per kilogram of body weight a day. Our protein calculator works out your figure.

Testing

The listings we read made no banned-substance testing claim, such as Informed Sport, for this product. For an ordinary gym-goer, that is a low risk from an established UK brand. For an athlete under anti-doping rules, choose a product whose batch you can look up; Gold Standard 100% Plant is on Optimum Nutrition’s own Informed Sport registered list.

Price: compare per 100 g of protein

Bulk lists the product from £9.99 for its smallest pack. A UK price tracker gave the 5 kg bag as the cheapest option at £1.56 per 100 g. If that figure is per 100 g of powder, then at 69 per cent protein it works out at about £2.26 per 100 g of protein. We could not confirm the 1 kg or 2.5 kg prices, and we read these figures from listings rather than taking an order through checkout.

That is the trap with this product: because the powder is less protein-dense than its rivals, a price per 100 g of powder flatters it. Compare per 100 g of protein. On that basis the 5 kg bag is roughly level with Myprotein Impact Vegan Protein in its 2.5 kg pouch at about £2.16, and well below Gold Standard 100% Plant at £4.36 to £5.56.

Best alternatives

The ones we have fully reviewed are linked, and appear in the comparison cards below this article. The others we name for comparison only: we have not reviewed them in full, so do not read their inclusion as a recommendation.

  • Myprotein Impact Vegan Protein (reviewed) — our highest-scoring protein powder: about 24 g of protein per 30 g scoop, a clearer label and a similar price per gram of protein. It contains fava bean rather than soya, which matters if you have G6PD deficiency or a soya allergy.
  • Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard 100% Plant (reviewed) — pea and rice, Informed Sport registered, about twice the price per gram. The choice for drug-tested athletes.
  • Bulk Pea Protein Isolate (not yet reviewed) — Bulk’s single-source option at up to 80 per cent protein, for anyone who wants to avoid soya or prefers a plainer ingredient list.
  • Soya milk, tofu, tempeh and lentils — the food route, which most vegans can use to reach their target without a powder.

Who should skip it, and what to watch for

It contains soya, so anyone with a soya allergy should avoid it, and anyone with other allergies should check the may-contain statement for their flavour. Some people find pea-based powders cause wind or bloating at first; starting with half a scoop helps.

Anyone with kidney disease should ask their GP or dietitian before increasing protein. Food supplements sold in Great Britain are not approved by a regulator for safety or effectiveness before sale, so the label is the manufacturer’s responsibility rather than a regulator’s endorsement.

Sources and shopping: our UK buying checklist

Before you order, read the nutrition panel for your flavour and note the protein per serving and per 100 g. Work out the cost per 100 g of protein — price ÷ (pack weight × protein per 100 g ÷ 100) × 100 — and compare it with Myprotein’s vegan blend on the same day. The larger bags are the cheapest per gram if you will finish them before their best-before date.

When the pack arrives, check the seal, the batch code and the best-before date.

Our commercial link for this product is our Bulk Vegan Protein Powder link. It earns us a commission at no extra cost to you, and it has no influence on the score above — which is a 7.4, held back by protein figures that disagree between listings, a less protein-dense powder and no testing claim.

The fair summary is this. Bulk Vegan Protein is a cheap, varied plant protein that will do the job. Read your pack’s protein figure and compare it per gram of protein, and you will know whether it is the bargain it looks.

Ingredient analysis

Vegan protein blend (pea protein isolate, soya protein isolate, pumpkin seed protein, quinoa flour, flaxseed powder)

strong evidence
About 23–27 g of protein per serving depending on the listing; about 69 g per 100 g

Trials show pea and soya protein, and protein-matched vegan diets, support resistance-training gains similar to whey and animal protein.

Digestive enzyme complex (amylase, protease, cellulase, lactase, lipase)

weak evidence
Not stated

Included to aid digestion. There is little evidence it makes a difference to a protein shake, but it does no harm.

Not stated

Flavour, texture and sweetness. Stevia is approved for use in the UK.

Full evidence on Rebaudioside A (stevia)

Who it’s for. What to consider.

Who it may suit

A vegan or dairy-free adult who trains, is not reaching their daily protein target from food, has no soya allergy, prefers stevia to sucralose, and will buy a larger bag after checking the price per 100 g of protein.

Who should avoid it

Anyone with a soya allergy. People who already reach their protein target from food. Competing athletes who need a batch-certified product. Anyone with kidney disease, unless their doctor or dietitian agrees.

What stands out

A five-source plant blend: pea, soya, pumpkin seed, quinoa and flaxseed

Sweetened with stevia rather than sucralose

Cheap per gram of protein in the 5 kg bag

Sold in 1 kg, 2.5 kg and 5 kg packs

Worth considering

Protein per serving given as up to 27 g, 24.2 g or 23 g depending on the listing

About 69 per cent protein, less dense than Myprotein’s vegan blend

A larger 35 g scoop than rivals, with more non-protein ingredients per serving

Contains soya

No banned-substance testing claim on the listings we read

Score breakdown

Five criteria, each out of 10, averaged to the overall score. See how we score products.

Evidence for the marketed claim8/10
Dose against the studied amount7/10
Label transparency6/10
Value against the generic equivalent8/10
Safety and tolerability8/10

How does it compare?

A closer look at the alternatives. Compare the ingredients and serving sizes, then explore the full review.

Myprotein Impact Vegan Protein
An alternative to consider

Myprotein Impact Vegan Protein

The UK’s value-brand vegan protein, reviewed against what the plant-protein research actually shows. About 24 g of pea and fava bean protein per 30 g scoop, little salt and a short ingredient list — at roughly half the price per gram of Optimum Nutrition’s plant protein. The one caution is fava bean, for anyone with G6PD deficiency.

Per servingAbout 24 g of protein per 30 g scoop (87% of the chocolate powder)
Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard 100% Plant Protein
An alternative to consider

Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard 100% Plant Protein

Optimum Nutrition’s vegan protein, reviewed against what the plant-protein research actually shows. A 32 g scoop gives 24 g of pea and rice protein with a short ingredient list, and it is one of the few Optimum Nutrition products the brand names as Informed Sport registered. The catch is the small tub and a price per gram of protein that only looks fair on offer.

Per serving24 g of protein per 32 g scoop, including about 4 g of BCAAs

Affiliate links: we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices and availability change — check the seller before buying.

Where to buy

Affiliate link: we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you.

Check the current price

Your questions, answered.

Is Bulk Vegan Protein Powder good?

It is a sound, cheap plant protein with a five-source blend and stevia sweetener. The weak point is the label: protein per serving is given as up to 27 g, 24.2 g or 23 g depending on where you look, so check your pack and compare the price per 100 g of protein.

How much protein is in a scoop?

Between about 23 and 27 g depending on the listing and flavour. A UK price tracker gives 24.2 g per 35 g serving and 69 g per 100 g. Read the panel on your pack for the exact figure.

Is it better than Myprotein Impact Vegan Protein?

Not on our scoring. They cost about the same per gram of protein in the big bags, but Myprotein’s powder is more protein-dense and its label is clearer. Bulk uses soya and stevia; Myprotein uses fava bean and sucralose, which may decide it for you.

Does it contain soya?

Yes. The protein blend includes soya protein isolate, so it is not suitable for anyone with a soya allergy. Bulk sells a single-source pea protein for people who want to avoid soya.

Community experiences

Reader submissions open once a page is published from the editorial database. This overview is maintained in code, so there is nothing to attach a submission to yet. If you have used this product, send it through the contact page and it will be considered when submissions open.

References7 sources
  1. Bulk UK product page for Vegan Protein Powder — the “up to 27 g” protein claim and ingredient list quoted here, read via search on 28 September 2026. bulk.com
  2. WheyWise UK price tracker for Bulk Vegan Protein Powder — the 69 g per 100 g, 24.2 g per 35 g serving and 5 kg price figures quoted here. wheywise.co.uk
  3. Amazon.co.uk listing for Bulk Vegan Protein Powder, vanilla, 1 kg — the 23 g per serving and 28 servings quoted here. amazon.co.uk
  4. Babault et al. (2015), Journal of the International Society of Sports Nutrition. Pea proteins oral supplementation promotes muscle thickness gains during resistance training: a randomised, placebo-controlled trial against whey protein. pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  5. Messina et al. (2018), International Journal of Sport Nutrition and Exercise Metabolism. No difference between supplementing with soy protein versus animal protein on gains in muscle mass and strength with resistance exercise. doi.org
  6. Hevia-Larraín et al. (2021), Sports Medicine. High-protein plant-based diet versus a protein-matched omnivorous diet to support resistance training adaptations. pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  7. Morton et al. (2018), British Journal of Sports Medicine. Systematic review and meta-analysis of protein supplementation and resistance-training-induced gains in muscle mass and strength. pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
Page historyPublished · Updated
  1. First published for the UK market, as a full review of an alternative named in our vegan protein reviews. We could not open Bulk’s own product page, so the details come from Bulk’s page summary, a UK price tracker and an Amazon.co.uk listing read via search on this date. This is a desk review: nobody on our team has used this product.
  2. Scored 7.4 out of 10 against the five published product criteria. A cheap, varied plant protein. The marks lost are for protein figures that disagree between listings, a less protein-dense powder, and no banned-substance testing claim.

Compare it with

Side by side on the five scores, the dose against the studied amount, the cost per serving and what each label discloses.

35 pages published15+ years clinical experienceZero paid rankings