This page may contain affiliate links. We may earn a commission at no extra cost to you.
Wellness / A closer look

Tesco A–Z Multivitamins & Minerals review

The supermarket own-brand multivitamin, reviewed against what multivitamin research actually shows. One tablet a day, 23 nutrients and about 5.5p a day — the cheapest multivitamin we have priced by a wide margin. It will not do much for someone who already eats well, and the amounts per tablet are on the pack but not on the listings we could read.

Our take: the price every other multivitamin has to justify

Tesco’s A–Z Multivitamins & Minerals is exactly what it looks like: a conventional one-a-day multivitamin and mineral tablet, sold cheaply. It lists 23 nutrients, it takes one tablet a day with a meal, and at a Clubcard price of £4.95 for 90 tablets it costs about 5.5p a day.

That price is the point of this review. We have reviewed two men’s multivitamins — Wellman Original at about 14p to 23p a day and Opti-Men at about 50p to 67p — and in both cases the evidence did not show that their extra ingredients do anything for a man who already eats reasonably. If a multivitamin is insurance, the cheapest adequate policy wins, and this is it.

Two caveats. The evidence that anyone who eats a varied diet needs a multivitamin at all is weak. And this tablet contains iron, which most men do not need.

This is a desk review. We have read the published ingredient list, the product description and the research on multivitamins in healthy adults. We have not taken these tablets, tested their contents or run a trial. We could not open Tesco’s product page, and the per-tablet amounts were not in the listings we could read, so this page does not quote them.

What exactly are you buying?

The product is sold in packs of 30, 90, 180 and 240 tablets. The directions are one tablet a day, preferably with a meal, without exceeding the recommended dose.

The listing describes it as containing 23 essential nutrients, and as a source of vitamins A, C, D, E, K, B6 and B12, calcium, magnesium, iron, zinc, copper, manganese and selenium, among others. Under GB labelling rules, calling a food a “source” of a vitamin or mineral means a daily serving provides at least 15 per cent of its reference intake. So every nutrient named there is present in a meaningful amount — but we cannot tell you exactly how much, and that matters most for vitamin D.

The ingredient list, in order of weight, is: calcium carbonate, magnesium oxide, vitamin C, bulking agents (microcrystalline cellulose, cross-linked sodium carboxymethylcellulose), ferrous fumarate (iron), vitamin E, niacin, anti-caking agents, zinc oxide, glazing agents (hydroxypropyl methylcellulose, talc), pantothenic acid, manganese sulphate, cupric sulphate, vitamin B6, thiamin, riboflavin, vitamin A, folic acid, antioxidants, potassium iodide, chromium chloride and sodium molybdate, along with vitamins D, K and B12 and the other listed nutrients.

That is a conventional, no-frills formula: standard forms of each nutrient, no botanicals, no amino acids, no ginseng. Calcium and magnesium come first because minerals are heavy, not because the doses are large; a single tablet cannot hold more than a fraction of a day’s calcium or magnesium.

What does the evidence say about multivitamins?

The largest randomised trial of a daily multivitamin, the Physicians’ Health Study II, followed 14,641 male US doctors for a median of 11 years. The cancer results showed a small reduction in total cancer, and the cardiovascular results no reduction in heart attacks, strokes or cardiovascular death. The US Preventive Services Task Force’s 2022 recommendation found the evidence insufficient to say whether multivitamins prevent heart disease or cancer, and a 2024 analysis of 390,124 healthy US adults found daily multivitamin use was not linked to living longer.

The NHS says most people should get the vitamins and minerals they need from a varied diet. The exception almost everyone in the UK shares is vitamin D: the NHS advises considering 10 µg a day in autumn and winter. Our guide to which vitamins to take daily sets out the other exceptions, such as folic acid before pregnancy and B12 for vegans.

The claims on the pack — B vitamins for reducing tiredness, vitamin D for bones and teeth, zinc for the immune system, iodine for cognitive function — are authorised claims on the GB nutrition and health claims register. They describe what these nutrients do in the body, and they matter when intake is low. They do not mean more gives you more.

Iron and vitamin D: the two lines to check

Iron. The ingredient list includes ferrous fumarate. For women who menstruate, who often need more iron, that is sensible. For most men and post-menopausal women, food usually provides enough, and the NHS notes that too much iron can be harmful. Men with haemochromatosis, a common inherited condition that often goes undiagnosed, should not take iron supplements.

Vitamin D. Older-style A–Z formulas often gave 5 µg of vitamin D, half the NHS figure; newer ones commonly give 10 µg. We could not read the amount in this one. Check the panel: if it gives less than 10 µg and vitamin D is your main reason for taking it, a plain 10 µg vitamin D tablet may be the better buy — and is similarly cheap.

Price: what 5.5p a day buys

In listings read on 28 September 2026, the 90-tablet pack had a Clubcard price of £4.95, about 5.5p a day, and Tesco regularly runs multi-buy offers on vitamins. We read this from a listing rather than taking an order through checkout, and non-Clubcard prices are usually higher.

For comparison: Wellman Original costs about 14p to 23p a day, Myprotein Alpha Men about 13p to 20p and Opti-Men about 50p to 67p. Those products add higher doses, more ingredients or men-specific branding, but none of those additions has good evidence of benefit for a man who eats reasonably.

Best alternatives

The ones we have fully reviewed are linked, and appear in the comparison cards below this article. The others we name for comparison only: we have not reviewed them in full, so do not read their inclusion as a recommendation.

  • A plain 10 µg vitamin D tablet — the best alternative for most adults who eat a varied diet, since vitamin D is the one gap the NHS expects most people in the UK to have. Supermarket own-brand tablets cost a few pence a day.
  • Nature Made Vitamin D3 1000 IU (reviewed) — a single-ingredient, USP-verified vitamin D at 25 µg. A US product; the point is the approach.
  • Vitabiotics Wellman Original (reviewed) — a branded men’s one-a-day with 10 µg of vitamin D, but B6 just under the NHS limit, iron and token extras, at two to four times the price.
  • Optimum Nutrition Opti-Men (reviewed) — a sports-shop men’s multi without iron on the European formula, at roughly ten times the daily cost.
  • Tesco’s 50+ and vegan A–Z multivitamins (not yet reviewed) — Tesco sells other versions of the same idea. If you want to avoid iron, compare their panels before buying.

Who should skip it, and what to watch for

Skip it if you eat a varied diet and only need vitamin D. Men with haemochromatosis or a family history of it should avoid it because of the iron. Anyone pregnant or trying to conceive should use a pregnancy-specific supplement with 400 µg of folic acid and no vitamin A from retinol, rather than a general multivitamin.

Anyone taking prescription medicines should check with a pharmacist first: iron, calcium, magnesium and zinc can reduce the absorption of some antibiotics and thyroid medicines if taken at the same time. Keep iron-containing supplements out of reach of children, for whom iron overdose is dangerous.

Food supplements sold in Great Britain are not approved by a regulator for safety or effectiveness before sale, so the label is the manufacturer’s responsibility rather than a regulator’s endorsement.

Sources and shopping: our UK buying checklist

Before you buy, read the panel for two lines: vitamin D (ideally 10 µg) and iron (and whether you need it). If you take any other supplement, add up the vitamin A, B6 and zinc across both. The 90-tablet pack on Clubcard price or a multi-buy offer is the cheapest way to buy it.

Our commercial link for this product is our Tesco A–Z link. It earns us a commission at no extra cost to you, and it has no influence on the score above — which is a 6.0, the highest of the multivitamins we have reviewed, driven by its price and held back by weak evidence that well-fed adults benefit, amounts we could not confirm and iron most men do not need.

The fair summary is this. If you want a multivitamin, this is as good a buy as the branded ones for a fraction of the price. Whether you want one at all is the better question.

Ingredient analysis

Each at least 15% of the reference intake; exact amounts not in the listings we read

Useful where intake is low, and vitamin D is worth taking in UK winters. Little evidence of benefit from topping up nutrients a varied diet already supplies.

Full evidence on Folic acid

Iron (ferrous fumarate)

moderate evidence
Not stated in the listings we read

Helpful for women who menstruate and others with low intake. Unnecessary for most men, and harmful for anyone with iron overload.

Other minerals (calcium, magnesium, zinc, copper, manganese, iodine, chromium, molybdenum, selenium)

moderate evidence
Not stated in the listings we read

Standard forms in a conventional one-a-day formula. A single tablet can hold only a small share of a day’s calcium and magnesium.

Who it’s for. What to consider.

Who it may suit

An adult with a genuinely limited diet who wants cheap, conventional multivitamin insurance, has checked the vitamin D amount on the pack, and either needs the iron or has no reason to avoid it.

Who should avoid it

Adults eating a varied diet who only need vitamin D in winter. Men with haemochromatosis or a family history of it. Anyone pregnant or trying to conceive, who should use a pregnancy-specific supplement. Anyone on thyroid medicines or regular antibiotics without checking with a pharmacist.

What stands out

About 5.5p a day on the 90-tablet pack at Clubcard price — the cheapest multivitamin we have priced

One tablet a day, 23 nutrients, each at least 15 per cent of the reference intake

A conventional formula with no botanicals or token extras

Sold in packs from 30 to 240 tablets

Worth considering

Large trials show little benefit from multivitamins in adults who already eat reasonably

Per-tablet amounts were not in the listings we could read, including vitamin D

Contains iron, which most men do not need

Calcium and magnesium can only be present in small amounts in a single tablet

Score breakdown

Five criteria, each out of 10, averaged to the overall score. See how we score products.

Evidence for the marketed claim4/10
Dose against the studied amount5/10
Label transparency5/10
Value against the generic equivalent9/10
Safety and tolerability7/10

How does it compare?

A closer look at the alternatives. Compare the ingredients and serving sizes, then explore the full review.

Vitabiotics Wellman Original
An alternative to consider

Vitabiotics Wellman Original

The UK’s best-known men’s multivitamin, reviewed against what multivitamin research actually shows. One tablet a day with the NHS-recommended 10 µg of vitamin D and a long list of extras — but most men who eat reasonably do not need a multivitamin, its vitamin B6 sits just under the NHS limit, and it adds iron most men should not take.

Per serving10 µg on current UK listings (5 µg on older ones)
Optimum Nutrition Opti-Men
An alternative to consider

Optimum Nutrition Opti-Men

The gym-shelf men’s multivitamin, reviewed against what multivitamin research actually shows. The vitamin doses are sensible and the vitamin D is right for a UK winter — but most men who eat reasonably do not need a multivitamin, the extras are too small to matter, and it costs up to ten times as much a day as a supermarket A–Z.

Per serving10 µg (200% NRV)
Myprotein Alpha Men
An alternative to consider

Myprotein Alpha Men

The value sports-shop men’s multivitamin, reviewed against what multivitamin research actually shows. It is cheap for what it lists — vitamins, minerals and a long run of herbal extracts including ginseng, ginkgo and royal jelly — but the extracts are almost certainly too small to matter, some carry real interaction risks, and listings disagree on how many tablets to take.

Per servingPer-serving amounts not confirmable from the listings we read

Affiliate links: we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices and availability change — check the seller before buying.

Where to buy

Affiliate link: we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you.

Check the current price

Your questions, answered.

Is Tesco A–Z Multivitamins & Minerals any good?

As a multivitamin, yes: a conventional one-a-day formula with 23 nutrients for about 5.5p a day, a fraction of branded products. Whether you need a multivitamin at all is the bigger question — most adults who eat a varied diet need only vitamin D in autumn and winter.

Is it as good as Wellman or Opti-Men?

For a man who eats reasonably, there is no good evidence that the extra ingredients in branded men’s multivitamins make a difference. Tesco A–Z costs a fraction of either. The main thing to check is its iron, which Opti-Men’s European formula does not contain.

How much vitamin D is in Tesco A–Z?

We could not read the exact amount. The pack describes it as a source of vitamin D, meaning at least 15 per cent of the reference intake. Check the panel: the NHS advises 10 µg a day in autumn and winter.

Should men take a multivitamin with iron?

Usually not. Most men get enough iron from food, and too much can be harmful. Men with haemochromatosis, a common inherited condition, should avoid iron supplements.

When should I take it?

Once a day with a meal, which reduces the chance of nausea. If you take thyroid medicines or certain antibiotics, ask a pharmacist how far apart to take them, because the minerals can reduce their absorption.

Community experiences

Reader submissions open once a page is published from the editorial database. This overview is maintained in code, so there is nothing to attach a submission to yet. If you have used this product, send it through the contact page and it will be considered when submissions open.

References9 sources
  1. Tesco listing for A–Z Multivitamins & Minerals 90 tablets — the product described here, with its 23-nutrient description, claims, directions and Clubcard price, read via search on 28 September 2026. tesco.com
  2. Open Food Facts entry for Tesco A–Z Multivitamins & Minerals 90 tablets — the ingredient list quoted here. world.openfoodfacts.org
  3. Gaziano et al. (2012), JAMA. Multivitamins in the prevention of cancer in men: the Physicians’ Health Study II randomised controlled trial. pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  4. Sesso et al. (2012), JAMA. Multivitamins in the prevention of cardiovascular disease in men: the Physicians’ Health Study II randomised controlled trial. pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  5. US Preventive Services Task Force (2022), JAMA. Vitamin, mineral and multivitamin supplementation to prevent cardiovascular disease and cancer: recommendation statement. pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  6. Loftfield et al. (2024), JAMA Network Open. Multivitamin use and mortality risk in three prospective US cohorts. pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  7. NHS. Vitamin D — the advice to consider 10 µg a day in autumn and winter. nhs.uk
  8. NHS. Vitamins and minerals — guidance on iron and on safe amounts from supplements. nhs.uk
  9. Great Britain nutrition and health claims register — the authorised vitamin and mineral claims on the pack. gov.uk
Page historyPublished · Updated
  1. First published for the UK market, as a full review of an alternative named in our men’s multivitamin reviews. We could not open Tesco’s product page, so the ingredient list and description come from listings read via search on this date, and per-tablet amounts are not quoted. This is a desk review: nobody on our team has used this product.
  2. Scored 6.0 out of 10 against the five published product criteria, the highest of the multivitamins we have reviewed, mainly on price. The marks lost are for weak evidence that well-fed adults benefit, per-tablet amounts we could not confirm, and iron most men do not need.
  3. Added our full review of Myprotein Alpha Men to the best alternatives and the comparison block. The score is unchanged.
  4. Added a photo of the 90-tablet pack. The score is unchanged.

Compare it with

Side by side on the five scores, the dose against the studied amount, the cost per serving and what each label discloses.

35 pages published15+ years clinical experienceZero paid rankings