This page may contain affiliate links. We may earn a commission at no extra cost to you.
Fat Burners / A closer look

Pendulum GLP-1 Probiotic review

A three-strain probiotic from the company that pioneered live Akkermansia, sold on GLP-1 and cravings. Pendulum’s own footnotes say the GLP-1 claims rest on preclinical studies and that the product is not intended for weight loss; the only human data is an uncontrolled customer survey.

Our take: the small print is the review

Pendulum is a serious company. It was the first to sell live Akkermansia muciniphila, it names its strains, and its products carry some of the most candid footnotes in the supplement aisle. That candour is the most useful thing about this one.

GLP-1 Probiotic is sold as support for "your body's un-hunger hormone", with 91 per cent of people reporting fewer cravings. Read the asterisks and the page tells you what is behind that. The GLP-1 benefits are "based on preclinical studies". The product is "not intended for weight loss". And the 91 per cent comes from a consumer survey of 274 of its own customers over six weeks, with no comparison group.

Those three facts settle most of this review. There is no human trial of this product. The strongest human trial of the organism at the centre of it measured GLP-1 directly and found no significant change, at a hundred times the dose in this capsule. And the price is about $2 to $3 a day.

If you want a probiotic, there are cheaper ones with the same headline strain count. If you want help with appetite or weight, Pendulum's own label tells you this is not the product for it.

This is a desk review of the published label and the research. Nobody here has taken it.

What is in the capsule

One capsule is a serving, and a bottle holds 30. The panel — which we found on the Amazon listing rather than on Pendulum's product page — lists:

  • Probiotic Blend, 500 million AFU: Clostridium butyricum WB-STR-0006, Akkermansia muciniphila WB-STR-0001 and Bifidobacterium infantis.
  • Chicory inulin, 174 mg, a prebiotic fibre.

The other ingredients are microcrystalline cellulose, a hypromellose capsule and silica. The panel image also shows badges for ISO 17025 lab testing, cGMP manufacturing and third-party testing.

The blend gives one number for all three strains. Pendulum's FAQ fills one gap: it says GLP-1 Probiotic contains the same amount of Akkermansia as its single-strain Akkermansia product, which our Pendulum Akkermansia review records at 100 million AFU a capsule. That leaves about 400 million AFU split between the other two strains in undisclosed proportions. AFU counts intact cells by flow cytometry, which reads higher than the colony counts used in most probiotic research, so the figures are not directly comparable to CFU either.

Pendulum is changing its packaging, and says you may receive either an amber bottle or a white one with the same formula.

What the evidence actually is

The GLP-1 claim is preclinical — Pendulum says so

Every GLP-1 claim on the product page carries a footnote: based on preclinical studies, not intended for weight loss. The page explains the idea — Akkermansia and C. butyricum produce compounds such as propionate, butyrate and a protein called P9 that can stimulate the gut cells releasing GLP-1 — and that mechanism has been shown in cells and animals. It has not been shown for this product in people.

The one human trial that measured GLP-1 found no effect

The first randomised human trial of Akkermansia, by Depommier and colleagues in Nature Medicine in 2019, gave 10 billion bacteria a day for three months to overweight and obese volunteers, in live and pasteurised forms. It measured plasma GLP-1 directly, and it did not change significantly. The metabolic improvements came mainly from the pasteurised, dead form. That trial used a hundred times the Akkermansia in this capsule.

A 2025 trial in Cell Metabolism of a different live strain, in 58 people with overweight and type 2 diabetes, found no benefit overall — only in people who started with low levels of the bacterium.

The trial behind the strains measured blood sugar

All three species in this capsule also appear in WBF-011, a five-strain formula with inulin that Pendulum scientists gave twice a day to 76 people with type 2 diabetes for 12 weeks, published in BMJ Open Diabetes Research & Care in 2020. Its primary outcome, blood glucose after a meal, improved against placebo at p = 0.0500 — exactly on the conventional threshold — with HbA1c 0.6 points lower. That is a real if marginal glycaemic result for a different formulation, taken twice daily, in a different population. It is the lineage of Pendulum's Glucose Control product, not this one, and its reported outcomes were about blood glucose, not cravings or weight.

The customer survey

The 91 per cent with fewer cravings and 88 per cent with fewer sugar cravings come from 274 customers taking the product for six weeks. Without a placebo group, a survey of people who have chosen and paid for a product to reduce cravings cannot separate its effect from expectation, from the decision to try, or from who chose to answer. Pendulum's own FAQ describes it as an initial consumer study and says clinical trials are planned. That is an honest description, and it is also a description of a product sold before the trials.

The page also carries endorsements from a naturopath, a physician and a dietitian. Endorsements describe professional opinion, not evidence about this capsule.

The dose question

For Akkermansia, human research has used 10 billion to 150 billion cells a day. This capsule's 100 million AFU is a hundredth of the lowest of those, which is the same problem our Pendulum Akkermansia review found with the single-strain product.

For C. butyricum and B. infantis, there is no studied GLP-1 or weight dose in humans to compare against, and the label does not say how much of either is present. The 174 mg of chicory inulin is there to feed the strains; fibre research into fullness and gut health uses grams, typically 5 to 10 g a day.

Price, and what you are paying for

On 25 September 2026 Pendulum's own store listed the product at $89 for 30 capsules bought once, $64 a month on a monthly subscription, or $173 for a three-month delivery. That is $2.97 a day bought once, $2.13 on a monthly subscription and $1.92 on three months. Subscription orders ship free.

Within Pendulum's own range, its single-strain Akkermansia costs $75 bought once. For outside comparison, Codeage sells an Akkermansia product at the same 100 million AFU with 435 mg of chicory inulin at $29.99 for 90 capsules at Target — about 33 cents a day. That is a different strain, and GLP-1 Probiotic adds two more organisms, but on the strain count and inulin that can be compared, you are paying six to nine times as much.

Pendulum advertises a money-back guarantee. On its Akkermansia product the terms were 30 days from first delivery, refunded minus shipping; check that the same applies before relying on it. The product is also FSA and HSA eligible through a partner, after a health questionnaire.

The Amazon listing linked here showed 3.8 out of 5 across 650 ratings, with 15 per cent at one star, and sits in Amazon's weight loss and appetite control category — despite the footnote saying the product is not intended for weight loss.

Side effects and safety

Pendulum's FAQ is straightforward: an adjustment period of gas, bloating, nausea or loose stools is possible, usually settling within about 14 days. The strains are commensal bacteria found in healthy human guts. The product has not been studied in pregnancy, planning pregnancy or breastfeeding, which Pendulum also says.

As with any live probiotic, people with serious gut disease or a weakened immune system should ask their doctor first; ConsumerLab adds cautions around inflammatory bowel disease. Pendulum recommends refrigeration for best quality but says the bottle can travel.

Sources and shopping: what to check

  • Read the footnotes on the product page. They tell you the GLP-1 evidence is preclinical and the product is not for weight loss.
  • If you want Akkermansia, compare AFU per capsule and price per day with Pendulum's single-strain product and with cheaper equivalents.
  • Subscriptions are much cheaper than buying once; check the cancellation and refund terms before starting one.
  • If cravings are the problem, a product with human appetite trials is a better starting point than a survey.

Our commercial link points to the 30-capsule listing on Amazon; it earns a commission at no extra cost to you and has not changed the score. For the one GLP-1 supplement we have found with human trials measuring both the hormones and the weight, see our Calocurb review. Our GLP-1 explainer puts all of these against what the drugs do.

Ingredient analysis

About 100 million AFU (inside a 500 million AFU blend)

A gut commensal with a real research literature, and the strain with the most human data behind Pendulum. For this product’s claim the evidence is weak: the Depommier trial gave 10 billion cells a day and found no significant change in GLP-1. The amount here is inferred from Pendulum’s FAQ, which says it matches the 100 million AFU in its single-strain product.

Full evidence on Akkermansia muciniphila (WB-STR-0001)

Clostridium butyricum WB-STR-0006

weak evidence
Not disclosed (part of the 500 million AFU blend)

A butyrate-producing bacterium. Evidence that it stimulates GLP-1 comes from cell and animal work, as Pendulum’s footnote says. It was one of five strains, alongside the other two here, in the WBF-011 type 2 diabetes trial, which reported blood glucose rather than appetite or weight.

Bifidobacterium infantis

none evidence
Not disclosed (part of the 500 million AFU blend)

A bacterium best known as an early coloniser of the infant gut, and one of the five strains in the WBF-011 blood-glucose trial. We found no human evidence for a GLP-1 or weight effect in adults, and the panel gives no strain designation or amount.

Chicory inulin

weak evidence
174 mg

A well-studied prebiotic fibre, included to feed the strains. Fibre research on fullness and gut health uses grams — typically 5 to 10 g a day — so at 174 mg it is supporting the capsule rather than doing anything measurable for you.

Full evidence on Chicory inulin

Who it’s for. What to consider.

Who it may suit

Someone who specifically wants a multi-strain probiotic built around Akkermansia from the brand with the most human research on its strains, who accepts that the GLP-1 and cravings claims are preclinical and survey-based, and who is paying for gut health rather than weight loss.

Who should avoid it

Anyone buying it for weight loss or appetite control on the strength of the name — the label says it is not intended for weight loss. Anyone pregnant, planning pregnancy or breastfeeding without advice, since it is untested there. Anyone with serious gut disease or a weakened immune system until their doctor has agreed.

What stands out

Two of the three strains carry strain designations, which most probiotics do not provide

Unusually candid footnotes: preclinical GLP-1 evidence, not intended for weight loss

Side effects, the adjustment period and the lack of pregnancy data are disclosed plainly

ISO 17025 lab testing, cGMP and third-party testing badges on the panel

Subscriptions bring the cost down to about $1.92 a day

Worth considering

By Pendulum’s own footnote, the GLP-1 claims rest on preclinical studies

The 91 per cent cravings figure is from an uncontrolled survey of 274 customers

The one human trial of Akkermansia that measured GLP-1 found no significant change, at a hundred times this dose

Per-strain counts are hidden in a 500 million AFU proprietary blend

We could not find the Supplement Facts panel on the brand’s own product page

$2.97 a day bought once, against about 33 cents for a comparable Akkermansia product

3.8 out of 5 across 650 Amazon ratings, 15 per cent at one star

Score breakdown

Five criteria, each out of 10, averaged to the overall score. See how we score products.

Evidence for the marketed claim2/10
Dose against the studied amount2/10
Label transparency4/10
Value against the generic equivalent2/10
Safety and tolerability6/10

How does it compare?

A closer look at the alternatives. Compare the ingredients and serving sizes, then explore the full review.

Pendulum Akkermansia
An alternative to consider

Pendulum Akkermansia

The first company to sell live Akkermansia muciniphila, with one of the cleanest labels in the supplement aisle — and a dose roughly 100 times below the amount used in the first randomised human trial of this organism, where the heat-killed form did more than the live one Pendulum sells.

Per serving100 million AFU per capsule
Calocurb (Amarasate)
An alternative to consider

Calocurb (Amarasate)

The only supplement in the GLP-1 aisle with randomised human trials measuring both the hormones and the weight. The science is real, the dose on the label matches the dose in the studies — and at the label’s own target dose a bottle lasts 22 days, not the month it claims.

Per serving250 mg per 2-capsule serving (500 mg per day at the label’s target dose)
Lemme Reset (formerly GLP-1 Daily)
An alternative to consider

Lemme Reset (formerly GLP-1 Daily)

The best-dosed label in the GLP-1 supplement aisle: three branded extracts, each at the amount used in its own trial. The catch is the part in the name — the lemon extract that raised GLP-1 in its trial did not change anyone’s weight.

Per serving200 mg (70% eriocitrin)

Affiliate links: we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices and availability change — check the seller before buying.

Where to buy

Sources and shopping options

Your questions, answered.

Does Pendulum GLP-1 Probiotic work for weight loss?

Pendulum says it is not intended for weight loss, and its GLP-1 claims are footnoted as based on preclinical studies. There is no human trial of this product. The one randomised trial of Akkermansia that measured GLP-1 found no significant change, at a hundred times the dose in this capsule.

What is the 91 per cent cravings figure based on?

A consumer survey of 274 people taking the product for six weeks, with no placebo or comparison group. It records what buyers reported, not what the product caused. Pendulum describes it as an initial consumer study and says clinical trials are planned.

What is the difference between GLP-1 Probiotic and Pendulum Akkermansia?

According to Pendulum, both contain the same amount of Akkermansia muciniphila WB-STR-0001 — 100 million AFU a capsule. GLP-1 Probiotic adds Clostridium butyricum and Bifidobacterium infantis, with less chicory inulin (174 mg against 276 mg), and costs more: $89 against $75 bought once.

How much does it cost?

On 25 September 2026, $89 for 30 capsules bought once, $64 a month on a monthly subscription, or $173 for three months. That is $2.97, $2.13 or $1.92 a day. Subscription orders ship free.

Does it contain GLP-1?

No. Pendulum states that it does not contain GLP-1 and is not a GLP-1 agonist drug. The idea is that the bacteria produce compounds which prompt your own gut cells to release GLP-1 — shown in preclinical work, not in trials of this product.

Are there side effects?

Pendulum lists gas, bloating, nausea or loose stools during an adjustment period that usually resolves within about 14 days. It has not been studied in pregnancy or breastfeeding. People with serious gut disease or a weakened immune system should check with a doctor first.

Is there a better GLP-1 supplement?

On evidence, Calocurb’s Amarasate hops extract is the one we have found with randomised human trials measuring GLP-1 and weight on the extract itself. Our ranking of the GLP-1 supplements we have reviewed puts them side by side.

Community experiences

Reader submissions open once a page is published from the editorial database. This overview is maintained in code, so there is nothing to attach a submission to yet. If you have used this product, send it through the contact page and it will be considered when submissions open.

References7 sources
  1. Pendulum. GLP-1 Probiotic product page — prices, the "based on preclinical studies" and "not intended for weight loss" footnotes, the 274-person consumer survey, the strain descriptions and FAQ answers, read on 25 September 2026. pendulumlife.com
  2. Pendulum GLP-1 Probiotic, 30 capsules — Amazon.com listing. The Supplement Facts panel image, the 3.8 rating across 650 ratings with 15 per cent one-star, and the category placement, read on 25 September 2026. amazon.com
  3. Depommier C et al. (2019). Supplementation with Akkermansia muciniphila in overweight and obese human volunteers: a proof-of-concept exploratory study. Nature Medicine 25:1096-1103 — 10^10 bacteria daily for three months; plasma GLP-1 did not change significantly. pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  4. Zhang Y et al. (2025). Akkermansia muciniphila supplementation in patients with overweight/obese type 2 diabetes: efficacy depends on its baseline levels in the gut. Cell Metabolism 37(3):592-605 — no significant between-group difference overall. pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  5. Perraudeau F et al. (2020). Improvements to postprandial glucose control in subjects with type 2 diabetes: a multicenter, double blind, randomized placebo-controlled trial of a novel probiotic formulation. BMJ Open Diabetes Research & Care — the five-strain WBF-011 trial in 76 people; primary outcome at p = 0.0500. The authors were Pendulum employees. pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
  6. Codeage Akkermansia muciniphila AH39, 100 million AFU with 435 mg chicory inulin, 90 capsules — $29.99 at Target, read on 24 September 2026 for our Pendulum Akkermansia review. A price benchmark, not a recommendation. target.com
  7. ConsumerLab. Akkermansia muciniphila: safety and health benefits — research doses of 10 billion to 150 billion cells daily, and cautions for inflammatory bowel disease and other conditions. consumerlab.com
Page historyPublished · Updated
  1. First published. Prices, footnotes and FAQ answers read from Pendulum’s product page; the Supplement Facts panel and rating from the Amazon listing. Trial details are shared with, and consistent with, our Pendulum Akkermansia review. Nobody at SharpAndLean has taken the product.
  2. Scored 3.2 out of 10 against the five published criteria. The evidence and dose marks follow Pendulum’s own footnotes and the Depommier trial; the value mark reflects $1.92 to $2.97 a day against about 33 cents for a comparable Akkermansia product.

Compare it with

Side by side on the five scores, the dose against the studied amount, the cost per serving and what each label discloses.

18 pages published15+ years clinical experienceZero paid rankings