This page may contain affiliate links. We may earn a commission at no extra cost to you.
Fat Burners / A closer look

ColonBroom Psyllium Fiber Powder — label overview

A flavoured psyllium husk powder sold for weight management at roughly six times the price per gram of plain psyllium — and the brand does not publish its Supplement Facts panel in readable text.

What this page covers

This is a source-based product overview, not a hands-on test or a clinical endorsement. No effectiveness score has been assigned.

Read the label

A one-scoop serving is reported to contain 3.6 g of psyllium husk powder, alongside 49 mg of sodium from pink Himalayan salt, natural flavour, citric acid, rebaudioside A from stevia, fruit and vegetable juice powder and organic rice hulls. The Amazon listing is 9.9 oz — roughly 280 g — for 50 servings at $34.97 at the time of checking. That works out at about 70 cents a serving, or roughly 19 cents per gram of psyllium husk once the flavourings are set aside.

Before use

Psyllium swells rapidly in liquid and has caused choking and oesophageal obstruction when taken with too little. Take it with a full glass of water, drink it promptly, and never immediately before lying down. Avoid it entirely with swallowing difficulty or a history of bowel obstruction. Because it slows absorption, separate it from medicines by at least two hours — this matters particularly for thyroid medication, lithium, carbamazepine and glucose-lowering drugs. Bloating and cramping are common in the first weeks.

What to compare

Work out the cost per gram of psyllium rather than per tub, and check the serving against the 7 to 10 g used in the research before deciding whether one scoop is doing the job you bought it for.

Sources and shopping

Manufacturer product information — We could not find a Supplement Facts panel in readable text anywhere on the brand’s own site, and the Amazon listing shows it only as an image. The per-serving figure below is therefore taken from Forbes Health rather than from the manufacturer, and is cited as such.

The commercial link on this page points to the 50 servings, tropical fruits listing, checked against the manufacturer label above. Other pack sizes and strengths exist, so confirm the seller, strength and package size on arrival. Prices and stock change and are not quoted here.

Ingredient analysis

Psyllium husk powder

strong evidence
3.6 g per serving (reported)

The only active ingredient, and a genuinely well-supported one — psyllium carries an FDA-authorised health claim for soluble fibre and coronary heart disease. The caveat is amount: research on cholesterol generally uses 7 to 10 g daily, so a single 3.6 g scoop sits at roughly half that. The evidence for weight loss specifically is much weaker than the marketing around this product implies.

Full evidence on Psyllium husk

Sodium (from pink Himalayan salt)

none evidence
49 mg per serving

Present for taste and mixing rather than as an active. Pink Himalayan salt is chemically salt; the colour does not confer a benefit over any other sodium source.

Rebaudioside A (stevia leaf extract)

none evidence
Not disclosed

A sweetener. Its job is palatability, which is not a trivial thing for a psyllium product, but it is not a functional ingredient and no amount is disclosed.

Fruit and vegetable juice powder

none evidence
Not disclosed

Used for colour and flavour. At an undisclosed amount in a 5.6 g scoop it cannot be contributing meaningful nutrition, and it should not be read as a serving of produce.

Who it’s for. What to consider.

Who it may suit

Someone who wants flavoured, pre-measured psyllium and is willing to pay a premium for convenience, having already understood that the active ingredient is available plain for a fraction of the price.

Who should avoid it

Psyllium swells rapidly in liquid and has caused choking and oesophageal obstruction when taken with too little. Take it with a full glass of water, drink it promptly, and never immediately before lying down. Avoid it entirely with swallowing difficulty or a history of bowel obstruction. Because it slows absorption, separate it from medicines by at least two hours — this matters particularly for thyroid medication, lithium, carbamazepine and glucose-lowering drugs. Bloating and cramping are common in the first weeks.

What stands out

The active ingredient is psyllium husk, which has genuinely strong evidence for regularity and cholesterol

Flavoured and stevia-sweetened, which makes a famously unpleasant ingredient easier to take daily

Pre-measured scoops remove the guesswork that puts people off bulk psyllium powder

Single active ingredient — there is no proprietary blend hiding what you are taking

Worth considering

No Supplement Facts panel published in readable text on the brand’s own site, so the serving figure cannot be verified at source

About 19 cents per gram of psyllium against roughly 3 cents for plain psyllium powder — close to six times the price

A 3.6 g scoop is around half the 7 to 10 g daily amount used in the cholesterol research

Marketed for weight management, where the evidence for psyllium is limited rather than strong

Manufactured by Gut Health UAB in Lithuania and distributed by Karma Processing Inc in Delaware, with no manufacturing detail on the packaging

How does it compare?

Where to buy

Sources and shopping options

Your questions, answered.

Is ColonBroom worth it?

It depends on what you are buying. The active ingredient is psyllium husk, which genuinely works for regularity and cholesterol, so the product is not ineffective. But at roughly 19 cents per gram of psyllium against about 3 cents for plain psyllium powder, you are paying close to six times the price for flavouring, portioning and brand. If those things are what get you to take fibre daily, that may be money well spent. If you would take plain psyllium anyway, it is not.

What is actually in ColonBroom?

Psyllium husk powder, reported at 3.6 g per serving, plus salt, natural flavour, citric acid, stevia extract, fruit and vegetable juice powder and rice hulls. The active ingredient is psyllium; everything else is there to make it taste and mix better.

Is ColonBroom just psyllium husk?

Functionally, yes. It is flavoured, sweetened, pre-portioned psyllium. That is not a criticism of whether it works — psyllium works — but it does mean the comparison worth making is against plain psyllium powder rather than against other branded gut products.

Why is it more expensive than plain psyllium?

You are paying for flavouring, portioning and brand. At $34.97 for 50 servings of 3.6 g, a gram of psyllium works out around 19 cents. A 12 oz tub of plain psyllium husk powder is about 3 cents a gram. Whether convenience is worth roughly six times the price is a reasonable thing to decide for yourself, but it should be a decision rather than an accident.

Does ColonBroom cause weight loss?

The evidence for psyllium as a weight-loss agent is limited. It can make meals more filling, which may reduce how much you eat, but it does not change metabolism or fat storage. Our psyllium evidence page grades weight loss at C while grading cholesterol and regularity at A.

Is one scoop enough?

For regularity, possibly. For the cholesterol benefit, the research generally uses 7 to 10 g of psyllium daily, and a 3.6 g scoop is about half. Two scoops would reach the studied range, which also doubles the cost per day.

Why can I not find the Supplement Facts panel?

We could not either. There is no ingredients page on the brand site that we could locate, and the Amazon listing shows the panel only as an image rather than as text. That is why the serving figure on this page is attributed to Forbes Health rather than to the manufacturer.

Community experiences

Reader submissions open once a page is published from the editorial database. This overview is maintained in code, so there is nothing to attach a submission to yet. If you have used this product, send it through the contact page and it will be considered when submissions open.

References3 sources
  1. Forbes Health. ColonBroom Review — the source of the 3.6 g per serving figure and the ingredient list used on this page, as the manufacturer does not publish a readable panel.
  2. US Food and Drug Administration. Health claim: soluble fiber from certain foods and risk of coronary heart disease, 21 CFR 101.81.
  3. NIH Office of Dietary Supplements. Dietary Supplements for Weight Loss — Fact Sheet for Consumers.
Page historyPublished
  1. First published. Price and serving count checked against the Amazon listing on this date; the per-serving psyllium figure attributed to Forbes Health because no readable manufacturer panel could be found.
6 pages published15+ years clinical experienceZero paid rankings